Book Review: 180 Seconds (ARC)

Disclaimer** I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review
32487648
Series: Standalone
Published by: Skyscape
Genre: Contemporary, Realistic, Young Adult
Pages: 300
Source: ARC via Netgalley
Release Date: April 25th, 2017 (TODAY!)
Rating: ✬✬✬✬
 Synopsis: 

Some people live their entire lives without changing their perspective. For Allison Dennis, all it takes is 180 seconds…

After a life spent bouncing from one foster home to the next, Allison is determined to keep others at arm’s length. Adopted at sixteen, she knows better than to believe in the permanence of anything. But as she begins her third year in college, she finds it increasingly difficult to disappear into the white noise pouring from her earbuds.

One unsuspecting afternoon, Allison is roped into a social experiment just off campus. Suddenly, she finds herself in front of a crowd, forced to interact with a complete stranger for 180 seconds. Neither she, nor Esben Baylor, the dreamy social media star seated opposite her, is prepared for the outcome.

When time is called, the intensity of the experience overwhelms Allison and Esben in a way that unnerves and electrifies them both. With a push from her oldest friend, Allison embarks on a journey to find out if what she and Esben shared is the real thing—and if she can finally trust in herself, in others, and in love.

Goodreads / Amazon / Book Depository

Favorite Quote

“I wanted to do that social experiment because I thought it would be a great way to see how two strangers can communicate and feel and maybe even find common ground, all without talking. How prejudgements about others sort of get washed away in the process, how a relationship of sorts happen in that short time.”

Thoughts

I’ll start off by saying that I was at first considering giving this book a 3/5 stars because I found the main character to be kind of bland and boring. However, as the story went on, Allison, our main character, started to develop a personality. I ended up loving her.

180 Seconds took me by surprise. I wasn’t expecting this book to move me in the ways that it did. It was super heart warming. All we ever hear on the news anymore is about the bad stuff and bad people. There is hardly any good. This book really showcased that there still are good people in this world. We might not always see them, but they’re always there and I really appreciated it. It made me tear up and cry more than I’d like to admit.

I can really relate to Allison on a multitude of levels. She goes to college wanting a one room apartment because she doesn’t like people. This was literally me when I lived at a dorm. I was too scared to do anything by myself so I ate in my dorm room all the time. To be honest, I was a loser. I think the reason I disliked Allison at the beginning was because she reminded me of who I use to be. A part of me that I use to despise. Allison can get bad anxiety when it comes to people. She’s scared they’ll leave so she doesn’t want to get close to anyone. This is literally me. However, I loved watching Allison grow as a character. It made my heart super happy.

Allison has a best friend named Steffi that I came to adore. I loved their relationship and how close they were. I feel like so many books have a boy/girl friendship that turns into a lame love story. I love that this book shows a close friendship between two girls and how much they’ve over come.

Esben was also truly fantastic. He reminded me a lot of my boyfriend. He’s so patient with Allison’s anxiety and so kind. He’s always looking for the good in people. He was definitely a heartthrob.  As well as Simon, Allison’s adoptive father. He was one of a kind.

I highly recommend this book. It blew me away. I was expecting a cute love story but this book was way more than that. Sure there is love, but it also highlights friendship and family and want it means to let people in.

Leave a Reply

